Don José Cabaleiro do Lago founded the first wineries in Chipiona as a derivation of the oak wood business that the Cabaleiro family owned in Galicia.
In 1870 the family business changed its name to Antonio Caballero y Sobrinos. It was under this denomination when exports to England and America began.
In these years there was the regrouping of the old vineyards of the family called "El Benito" and "Las Cruces", with an area of ??105 hectares of the best lands in the area.
Under the presidency of Mr. Luis Caballero Noguera, the group of companies Luis Caballero S.A. and all the Group's activity was established on an international scale.
The Company became the first exporter of El Puerto de Santa María to England.
In that year the Castillo de San Marcos went on to become the emblem of the Company, incorporating its silhouette into the labels of its wines.
From then on, Luis Caballero dedicated himself to caring for and enlarging the building -which was declared an Asset of Cultural Interest- opening it to conferences, symposiums, concerts, exhibitions and other quality events.
Luis Caballero incorporated Bodegas Lustau in 1990, the only winery in Jerez that produces wines in the three cities of the Marco. This agreement involved considerable financial support and the possibility of development and expansion for Bodegas Lustau.
Luis Caballero S.A. He began to outline a commercial strategy based on the creation of value through the positioning of his products. This resulted in a strong development of sales of wines and spirits, especially in Ponche Caballero, its most unique product, which became the leading brand in Spain and one of the best selling liquors in Europe.